clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pacific Takes Pre-Season Awards & All-Pac-12 Team

Awards and team selected by a panel of Pac-12 bloggers.

Jonathan Ferrey

Heading into the 2013 season, we polled a group of Pac-12 bloggers to get their votes on who they think will end up winning some hypothetical major awards for the conference and a pre-season All-Pac-12 team.

Here are the results.

Pac-12 Heisman

First place - Marcus Mariota QB Oregon

Mariota got the most votes easily which makes sense due to the fact that he can do so many things and leads the conference favorite.

Second place - Marqise Lee WR USC

Lee got a lot of votes, but might be limited by the position he plays and the uncertainty at quarterback at USC.

Third place - Ka'Deem Carey RB Arizona

Carey might produce the best numbers, but his team's overall success may hold him back.

Defensive Player of the Year

Anthony Barr LB UCLA

Barr edges out Sutton here for the award that Sutton likely narrowly edged him out for last season.

Freshman of the Year

Thomas Tyner RB Oregon

Pac-12 voters can't wait to see what the speedy Tyner can do in Oregon's offense.

Coach of the Year

Mark Helfrich Oregon

Pac-12 voters expect Helfrich to pick up right where Chip Kelly left off.

Offensive Coordinator of the Year

Noel Mazzone UCLA

The Bruins will need to replace a lot of fire power on offense, but with Brett Hundley, anything is possible.

Defensive Coordinator of the Year

Derek Mason Stanford

Mason has a pretty scary defensive roster that should make sure that he wins this awards.

All-Pac-12 Team


QB Marcus Mariota So. Oregon

Hundley got a couple votes, but Mariota was nearly unanimous here.

RB Ka'Deem Carey Jr. Arizona (Unanimous)

No question here, as easy of a vote as you can make.

RB Bishop Sankey Jr. Washington

Putting Thomas at All-Purpose opens up the spot for the very deserving Sankey.

AP De'Anthony Thomas Jr. Oregon

Thomas may have been unanimous if he had one concrete position.

WR Marqise Lee Jr. USC (Unanimous)

Another no-brainer like Carey.

WR Brandin Cooks Jr. Oregon State

This spot probably opened up due to Austin Hill's injury, but Cooks is still deserving.

TE Austin Seferian-Jenkins Jr. Washington

Seferian-Jenkins was one vote away from being unanimous due to one vote for Chris Coyle.

T Cameron Fleming Sr. Stanford

Not as much of a slam dunk as David Yankey, but still the biggest vote getter for the position.

T Tyler Johnstone So. Oregon

Johnstone narrowly beat out fellow Duck Jake Fisher.

G David Yankey Sr. Stanford (Unanimous)

Far and away the best offensive lineman in the conference.

G Xavier Su'a-Filo Jr. UCLA

Su'a-Filo might not be as good as Yankey, but he was close to unanimous too.

C Hroniss Grasu Jr. Oregon (Unanimous)

One of the best centers in the country.

K Andrew Furney Sr. Washington State

Consistent with a big leg, Furney was the clear choice here.


DE Scott Crichton Jr. Oregon State

Nearly unanimous, Crichton is an incredible pass-rusher.

DE Morgan Breslin Sr. USC

Breslin got nearly as many votes as Crichton as is a solid second defensive end for an All-Pac-12 team.

DT Will Sutton Sr. Arizona State (Unanimous)

Returning Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, easy call here.

DT Leonard Williams So. USC

One of the most interesting spots on the team with no clear cut guy, Williams beat out Wade Keliikipi for the spot.

LB Anthony Barr Sr. UCLA (Unanimous)

One of the best linebackers to play in the Pac-12 in a long time.

LB Shayne Skov Sr. Stanford

Would usually be the best linebacker in the conference, but Barr is pretty impossible to beat.

LB Trent Murphy Sr. Stanford

Ditto, the note that accompanies Skov.

CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu Jr. Oregon (Unanimous)

A great all-around CB that is an All-American candidate.

CB Terrance Mitchell Jr. Oregon

An underrated talent, Mitchell might start to get accolades this season.

S Ed Reynolds Sr. Stanford

Reynolds had enough interceptions last season to justify him nearly being an unanimous choice.

S Dion Bailey Jr. USC

Move to safety actually probably got him onto the first team.

P Darragh O'Neill Jr. Colorado

Maybe he got so many votes because he punts more than any other guy in the conference.

Returner De'Anthony Thomas Jr. Oregon

Narrowly beat out Marqise Lee.