clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Elite 8 Sunday chat: Duke vs. Gonzaga, Louisville vs. Michigan State

A lot of traditional powers made this list

Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

Louisville Cardinals vs. Michigan State Spartans, 11:20 AM PT, 2:20 PM ET (East Region, Carrier Dome, Syracuse), CBS

Louisville and Michigan State weren't exactly everyone's biggest projections, but you figured that if any traditional powers decided to shock and advance, the Cardinals or the Spartans would be somehow intertwined in the mix. Fortune brought both here thanks to upsets (by their own hand or by someone else's), and now each has a great shot to get to Indianapolis in a matchup that could go either way.

Duke Blue Devils vs. Gonzaga Bulldogs, 2:05 PM PT, 5:05 PM ET (South Region, NRG Stadium, Houston), CBS

The thing with Gonzaga is they haven't really been challenged yet. They've beaten a 15, 7 and 11 seed to get to this point. Upgrading to Duke won't be an easy task. But the Bulldogs do have the size to challenge the Blue Devils down low and the skills to match them shot for shot from outside. Duke has hardly been impressive but they've done just enough to get every one of their wins. Will it be enough to get them to a Final Four at last?