clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

American Football Coaches Association Award Show

Awards show to highlight the best about college football

The American Football Coaches Association will be telecasting the American Football Coaches Award Show for the first time ever on January 10, 2017 at 8pm CST. The show will be shown on the CBS Sports Network live from Nashville, Tennessee.

The host of the show will be former Tennessee Titan great Eddie George.

The coaches to be featured on the American Football Coaches Award Show is literally a who’s who of college football.

Here’s the list of coaches involved in the awards show:

The following are coaches that are connected with the state of Tennessee:

-Butch Jones, University of Tennessee

-Derek Mason, Vanderbilt University

-Mike Norvell, University of Memphis

-Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee State University

-Phillip Fulmer, former head coach of University of Tennessee will be attending as well. Coach Fulmer will be presenting a history of the American Football Coaches Association early in the broadcast.

Here’s the list of other head coaches attending the show:

-Mike MacIntyre, University of Colorado

-Lane Kiffin, Florida Atlantic University

-David Cutcliffe, Duke University

-Lovie Smith, University of Illinois

-Ed Orgeron, Louisiana State University

-Doug Martin, New Mexico State University

-Larry Fedora, University of North Carolina

-James Franklin, Penn State University

-Clay Helton, University of Southern California

-Jay Hopson, University of Southern Mississippi

-Gary Patterson, Texas Christian University

-Everett Withers, Texas State University

-Frank Wilson, University of Texas San Antonio

-Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech University

-Dave Clawson, Wake Forest University

Don Nehlen, former head coach at Bowling Green and West Virginia, will be receiving the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award. This award is given to an individual whose services to advance football have been deemed outstanding. Past coaches who have won the award is Bear Bryant, Bobby Bowden, Hayden Fry, Ara Parseghian, and Bo Schembechler.

The show will feature the AFCA Coaches Trophy presented by Amway to the number one ranked team and national champion. The Crystal Ball has been given to Amway Coaches’ Poll national champion since 1986. Past winners include: Nick Saban, Les Miles, Bob Stoops, Larry Coker, Jim Tressel, Phillip Fulmer, Jimbo Fisher, and Urban Meyer.

The AFCA will also present an award for Comeback Coach of the Year. The finalists for the award are Chris Creighton from Eastern Michigan, Mike MacIntyre from Colorado, and Paul Petrino from Idaho. The award is given to the coach who has faced adversity or significant obstacles in the past or current season, but led his team to a great season despite the adversity.

An interesting tidbit to this awards show is that there is a fan attending the show. Lindsey Jacob, a resident of Oregon, a life-long Oregon Duck fan, will be in attendance. Lindsey will be able to walk the green carpet and meet coaches. She was the winner out of 30,000 entries.