clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018-19 Pacific Takes Pac-12 Basketball Awards and Teams: Washington’s Matisse Thybulle MVP

Handing out awards and all-conference teams at the end of the regular season.

NCAA Basketball: Oregon at Washington Jennifer Buchanan-USA TODAY Sports

MVP - Matisse Thybulle Sr. G Washington

Nowell might have been the safe choice, but Thybulle was the real choice in my opinion. Like Jorge Guitierrez before him, Thybulle was the conference’s best player in a down year as an impossibly-strong defender on the conference’s best team.

2nd Jaylen Nowell So. G Washington 3rd Tres Tinkle Jr. F Oregon State

Coach - Mike Hopkins Washington

No question here. Hopkins pulled the Huskies from the sad cellar of the conference to the penthouse in just two seasons. He has the Huskies poised for their Pac-12 Tournament title and NCAA Tournament appearance in years.

2nd Bobby Hurley Arizona State 3rd Larry Krystkowiak Utah

Defensive Player of the Year - Matisse Thybulle Sr. G Washington

No question here. Thybulle is one of the best defenders to ever play in the conference, if not the.

2nd Kylor Kelley Jr. F Oregon State 3rd Kenny Wooten So. F Oregon

Freshman of the Year - CJ Elleby F Washington State

Dort might be the official choice, but I’ll go with Elleby who was the best pure freshman this year in my opinion, even if his team was bad.

2nd Lugentz Dort G Arizona State 3rd Louis King F Oregon

First Team

G Jaylen Nowell So. Washington

G Matisse Thybulle Sr. Washington

F Tres Tinkle Jr. Oregon State

F KZ Okpala So. Stanford

F Zylan Cheatham Sr. Arizona State

Second Team

G McKinley Wright IV So. Colorado

F Robert Franks Sr. Washington State

G Sedrick Barefield Sr. Utah

F Bennie Boatwright Sr. USC

G Remy Martin So. Arizona State

3rd Team

G Jaylen Hands So. UCLA

F CJ Elleby Fr. Washington State

G Lugentz Dortz Fr. Arizona State

G Tyler Bey So. Colorado

F Noah Dickerson Sr. Washington

Honorable Mention

G Stephen Thompson Jr. Sr. Oregon State

G Kris Wilkes So. UCLA

F Nick Rakocevic Jr. USC

G David Crisp Sr. Washington

F Louis King Fr. Oregon

Defense - First Team

G Matisse Thybulle Sr. Washington

F Kylor Kelley Jr. Oregon State

F Kenny Wooten So. Oregon

F Zylan Cheatham Sr. Arizona State

G Payton Pritchard Jr. Oregon

Second Team

G Lugentz Dort Fr. Arizona State

C Moses Brown Fr. UCLA

G McKinley Wright IV So. Colorado

F Hameir Wright So. Washington

F Justice Suenig So. Cal

All-Freshman - First Team

F CJ Elleby Washington State

G Lugentz Dort Arizona State

F Louis King Oregon

F Timmy Allen Utah

C Moses Brown Oregon

Second Team

G Brandon Williams Arizona

G Cormac Ryan Stanford

G Parker Van Dyke Utah

F Evan Battey Colorado

F Both Gach Utah