clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USC, Oregon lead the way on Preseason All-Pac-12 Teams

The Trojans and Ducks each saw 13 players nominated across the four preseason teams by Athlon Sports

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: JAN 01 Rose Bowl - Oregon v Wisconsin Photo by Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The preseason awards are certain to start rolling in for several players across the Pac-12 as the season is officially on the horizon. The fine folks at Athlon Sports listed their All-Pac-12 teams this week, going as deep as four teams and listing 110 total players to their teams.

The USC Trojans led the way with seven first-teamers and 13 total players. The Oregon Ducks also had 13 total selections but only five first-team players.

Stanford and Cal finished tied for third-most picks as they each had 12 and Washington, Washington State and Arizona State each finished with 10 players selected.

UCLA and Arizona tied for the fewest selections, seeing just five apiece and no first-team nor second-team selections for the Bruins or Wildcats.

The teams were led by Kedon Slovis at quarterback from USC and his wide receiver duo of Tyler Vaughns and Amon-Ra St. Brown. Arguably the nation’s best QB-WR combination at this stage of the preseason, this further solidifies what we’re like to see in the lead up to the year, and that’s the Trojans riding high with excitement and anticipation.

The best player in the entire country was also an obvious selection for first-team representation as Penei Sewell was, of course, selected. The Oregon junior offensive lineman should also be on the Heisman Trophy Watch Lists and every other major college football award preseason list he can land on.

Rounding out the first team selections were the running back duo of CJ Verdell from Oregon and Jermar Jefferson from Oregon State with fellow RB Max Borghi selected as the first-team all-purpose player selection. The Washington State running back is likely to see a major increase in carries and could see somewhere around 100 targets as well in the Nick Rolovich offense.

Utah’s Brant Kuithe was the first-team tight end while Stanford and Washington each had a first-team selection on the offensive line with Drew Dalman at center from the Cardinal and Jaxson Kirkland at OL from the Huskies. Washington State, USC and Oregon had the other offensive lineman with Abraham Lucas, Alijah Vera-Tucker and Sewell, respectively.

The first-team defense was comprised of just a few teams as Oregon tied against with USC and as well with Washington for most first-team defensive players. The Ducks had Kayvon Thibodeaux, Thomas Graham and Jevon Holland on the first team while the Huskies had Levi Onwuzurike, Joe Tyron and Elijah Molden on the list. USC saw Jay Tufele, Drake Jackson and Talanoa Hufanga on the first-team defense while Colorado’s Nate Landman and Oregon State’s Hamilcar Rashed Jr. were the lone two players not from either of the big three teams on the defense.

Arizona State saw their lone first-team representative with the selection of Michael Turk at punter after he was reinstated with the program due to the fact that he went undrafted and was subsequently unsigned and unable to work out with NFL teams due to coronavirus. The groundbreaking ruling to allow him back to school came just last week and he’ll once again be an integral part of the Sun Devils special teams unit.

Blake Mazza from Washington State, Connor Wedington from Stanford and Britain Covey from Utah rounded out the specialists on the first team.

The full teams can be found here, and below:

First-Team Offense
QB Kedon Slovis, USC
RB CJ Verdell, Oregon
RB Jermar Jefferson, Oregon State
AP Max Borghi, Washington State
WR Amon-Ra St. Brown, USC
WR Tyler Vaughns, USC
TE Brant Kuithe, Utah
C Drew Dalman, Stanford
OL Penei Sewell, Oregon
OL Abraham Lucas, Washington State
OL Alijah Vera-Tucker, USC
OL Jaxson Kirkland, Washington

First-Team Defense
DL Levi Onwuzurike, Washington
DL Jay Tufele, USC
DL Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon
DL Drake Jackson, USC
LB Nate Landman, Colorado
LB Hamilcar Rashed Jr., Oregon State
LB Joe Tryon, Washington
CB Thomas Graham, Oregon
CB Elijah Molden, Washington
S Jevon Holland, Oregon
S Talanoa Hufanga, USC

First-Team Specialists
K Blake Mazza, Washington State
P Michael Turk, Arizona State
KR Connor Wedington, Stanford
PR Britain Covey, Utah

Second-Team Offense
QB Jayden Daniels, Arizona State
RB Christopher Brown Jr., California
RB Richard Newton, Washington
AP Britain Covey, Utah
WR Frank Darby, Arizona State
WR Michael Wilson, Stanford
TE Cade Otton, Washington
C Orlando Umana, Utah
OL Walker Little, Stanford
OL William Sherman, Colorado
OL Dohnovan West, Arizona State
OL Nick Ford, Utah

Second-Team Defense
DL Mustafa Johnson, Colorado
DL Jermayne Lole, Arizona State
DL Mika Tafua, Utah
DL Jordon Scott, Oregon
LB Kuony Deng, California
LB Jahad Woods, Washington State
LB Ryan Bowman, Washington
CB Paulson Adebo, Stanford
CB Cam Bynum, California
S Brady Breeze, Oregon
S Elijah Hicks, California

Second-Team Specialists
K Peyton Henry, Washington
P Ben Griffiths, USC
KR Mykael Wright, Oregon
PR Jevon Holland, Oregon

Third-Team Offense
QB Chase Garbers, California
RB Austin Jones, Stanford
RB Alex Fontenot, Colorado
AP Demetric Felton, UCLA
WR Johnny Johnson, Oregon
WR Tay Martin, Washington State
TE Brady Russell, Colorado
C Michael Saffell, California
OL Jake Curhan, California
OL Brandon Kipper, Oregon State
OL Jake Burton, UCLA
OL Liam Ryan, Washington State

Third-Team Defense
DL Brett Johnson, California
DL Osa Odighizuwa, UCLA
DL Thomas Booker, Stanford
DL Luc Bequette, California
LB Colin Schooler, Arizona
LB Cameron Goode, California
LB Devin Lloyd, Utah
CB Deommodore Lenoir, Oregon
CB Jack Jones, Arizona State
S Aashari Crosswell, Arizona State
S Skyler Thomas, Washington State

Third-Team Specialists
K Jet Toner, Stanford
P Oscar Draguicevich, Washington State
KR Travell Harris, Washington State
PR Nikko Remigio, California

Fourth-Team Offense
QB Davis Mills, Stanford
RB Devin Brumfield, Utah
RB Stephen Carr, USC
WR Nikko Remigio, California
WR Jamarye Joiner, Arizona
WR Kyle Philips, UCLA
WR Trevon Bradford, Oregon State
WR K.D. Nixon, Colorado
OL Josh McCauley, Arizona
OL Steven Jones, Oregon
OL Donovan Laie, Arizona
OL Luke Wattenberg, Washington
OL Foster Sarell, Stanford

Fourth-Team Defense
DL Marlon Tuipulotu, USC
DL D.J. Davidson, Arizona State
DL Will Rodgers, Washington State
LB Mase Funa, Oregon
LB Omar Speights, Oregon State
LB Avery Roberts, Oregon State
LB Merlin Robertson, Arizona State
LB Palaie Gaoteote, USC
CB Trent McDuffie, Washington
CB Olaijah Griffin, USC
CB Lorenzo Burns, Arizona
S Chase Lucas, Arizona State

Fourth-Team Specialists
K Chase McGrath, USC
P Ryan Sanborn, Stanford
KR Demetric Felton, UCLA
PR Michael Wilson, Stanford