clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

13 Pac-12 players make the preseason Bednarik Award Watch List

USC leads the way with three selections

Utah v USC Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images

The 2020 Bednarik Award Watch List has officially been released by the Maxwell Football Club and the Pac-12 is widely represented.

In total, 13 different Pac-12 players were named to the list while the USC Trojans led the charge with three. In fact, the three players USC sported on the list tied the defending National Champion LSU Tigers for most from one team to find the list.

Here’s the list of Pac-12 players on the prestigious award watch list:

Paulson Adebo, CB, Stanford Cardinal
Camryn Bynum, DB, California
Kuony Deng, LB, California
Jevon Holland, S, Oregon Ducks
Talanoa Hufanga, S, USC
Drake Jackson, DE, USC
Nate Landman, LB, Colorado
Elijah Molden, CB, Washington
Levi Onwuzurike, DT, Washington
Hamilcar Rashed, LB, Oregon State
Kayvon Thibodeaux, DE, Oregon
Jay Tufele, DT, USC Trojans
Jahad Woods, LB, Washington State

Eight of the 12 member universities spotted a player on the Bednarik Award Watch List. The Bednarik Award is annually given out to the nation’s top overall defensive player and has been since 1995.

The award has been won by just two Pac-12 players in the past: Scooby Wright from Arizona in 2014 and Rey Maualuga from USC in 2008. Penn State has the most individual winners and the most times won as LaVar Arrington, Paul Posluszny and Dan Connor combined to win the award four times.

The Bednarik Award is voted on by members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA head football coaches, sportswriters and sportscasters across the country. The Maxwell Football Club also awards the Maxwell Award and that prestigious watch list will be unveiled later this month.