clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kedon Slovis, Jayden Daniels named to Davey O’Brien Watch List

The USC and Arizona State signal-callers are among the top 30 QBs in the country

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 30 Arizona at Arizona State Photo by Kevin Abele/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2020 Davey O’Brien Award unleashed its watch list for the preseason — and rightfully so, Kedon Slovis of the USC Trojans found his way to the list. Also on the list from the Pac-12, Arizona State Sun Devils QB Jayden Daniels, as the duo make up the only Pac-12 quarterbacks on the 30-player list.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and has been given out since 1981. Since then, no USC nor Arizona State quarterback has won the award, not even Carson Palmer or Matt Leinart, nor Jake Plummer or Rudy Carpenter.

In fact, only two Pac-12 quarterbacks have won the award as Troy Aikman of UCLA brought it home in 1988 and Marcus Mariota of Oregon brought home the award in his Heisman Trophy season of 2014.

The award is named after Davey O’Brien, a former college football player and is voted upon by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, given out during an annual awards and trophy ceremony in Fort Worth, Texas.

Sixteen semifinalists will be named on November 10, after enough weeks of the 2020 season as to determine enough to cut the list by nearly half.

It is currently scheduled to be awarded at the 44th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, February 15, 2021.