clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pac-12 reprimands Lorenzo Romar for rebuking officials on controversial call


Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

The Pac-12 has its share of struggles with getting its officiating in order, and they appeared to continue with another controversial end of game call between Oregon State and Washington, where it appeared as if Stephen Thompson Jr.'s buzzer beater came after he took several steps and probably should have been called for traveling.

Washington head coach Lorenzo Romar was quick to complain after the game about the call and publicly made a protest about the whole situation, saying that the officials got the call wrong and the Huskies should have won the game. The loss put Husky tournament hopes in a precarious situation.

The Pac-12 wasn't too pleased, defended their officials, and responded almost immediately with a  public reprimand of the Husky coach. Mostly because the play wasn't reviewable, not because it was actually wrong.

Here's the full official statement from the Pac-12.  Not the finest hour for the conference.

(Pacific Takes prepares for their own verbal reprimand.)

University of Washington Head Coach Lorenzo Romar has been reprimanded by the Pac-12 Conference for public comments he made about men's basketball officiating, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

Romar made comments to the media questioning the officiating during Washington's game with Oregon State Wednesday night, and subsequent public comments that did not support the Conference's statement regarding its review of the end of game situation.

"The Pac-12 has specific rules that prohibit our coaches from making public comments about officiating," stated Scott. "We have an obligation to our membership to enforce the Conference rules which they have approved. As a part of our officiating program, there is a protocol in place for our coaches to provide feedback directly to the coordinator of officials."