clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Can a Utah punter win the Ray Guy Award four years straight? Mitch Wishnowsky aims for back-to-back

Punting is winning.

NCAA Football: Utah at Colorado Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The Ray Guy Award winner is back to defend his title. Do other Pac-12 punters (or punters from across college football) have what it takes to try and take it away from him?

Let’s take a look at the five Pac-12 nominees for best punter in college football from the Ray Guy Award preseason watch list.

Jake Bailey, Stanford Cardinal punter. Stanford has had great special teams during the David Shaw era. Can the tradition continue?

Steve Coutts, California Golden Bears punter. Coutts is a transfer from Louisiana Lafayette (where he was one of the nation’s top punters), and is looking to win the starting job at Cal.

Nick Porebski, Oregon State Beavers punter. Oregon State’s special teams drastically improved last season. Porebski was a big part of that.

Chris Tilbey, USC Trojans punter. USC won’t be punting a ton this season, but Tilbey is one of the nation’s best regardless.

Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah Utes punter. Utah is trying to win this award for the fourth straight season. Tom Hackett won the award in 2014 and 2015, and Wishnowsky is looking for his second straight Guy award.