Pac-12 Football TV Schedule Under New Deal, Pac-12 Network: Revising 2011

As the Pac-12 Football TV schedule for 2012 is set to be announced in the upcoming weeks, I decided to take a look back at last year and check out how much better the TV schedule would have looked if the new deal went into place last year. I don't really take into account things like which TV network would draft first in a regular week; that's for tomorrow's projections.

Keep in mind the stipulations under the new Pac-12 TV deal.

  • 2 games on ABC as opposed to 9 in the previous deal
  • 20 games on ESPN (with up to 4 on ESPNU, up to 4 on Thursday, up to 4 on Friday, and the majority of ESPN/ESPN2 games starting with a 10 PM kickoff).
  • 8 regular season games on FOX (four for primetime) as opposed to zero in 2011.
  • 14 regular season games on F/X as opposed to three in 2011 (imagine one game a week through the year, with one doubleheader)
  • No games on FSN/Versus as opposed to 21 in 2011.
  • 35 games on the Pac-12 Network as opposed to zero in 2011 because no Pac-12 network existed.

Do not trust my scheduling abilities. I tried to make sure there was one game playing in each of the three possible Pac-12 Network slots (early afternoon, late afternoon, evening) to assure each game was nationally televised on the network. I aimed to make it look as attractive as possible, although I can imagine things being a little bit muckier in the regular process.

Also, I did not try to favor schools for regular national telecasts, but went with the best possible matchups. This isn't the way it would work with the new Pac-12 Network, but this is a pretty good representation of how things would have gone.

Here's a sample of how much better things are going to be for Pac-12 football fans.

Week 1 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, September 1
Montana State at Utah, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, KJZZ (local Utah network)


Saturday, September 3
Minnesota at USC, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, ABC
San Jose State at Stanford, 2 PM PT/5 PM ET, CSN Bay Area (local Bay Area network)
Fresno State vs. California (Candlestick Park), 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, CSN California (local Bay Area network)
Eastern Washington at Washington, 4 PM/7 PM ET, Root NW (local Seattle network)

Northern Arizona at Arizona, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, AZ Wildcats Net (local Arizona network)
UC Davis at Arizona State, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, Fox Sports Arizona (local Arizona network)
Sacramento State at Oregon State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, No telecast
Idaho State at Washington State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, No telecast

Note: UCLA at Houston (Conference USA), Colorado at Hawaii (WAC), and LSU/Oregon are not part of the Pac-12 contract because they're hosted on opposing conference sites or neutral sites. They were all nationally televised.

Results: 1 Pac-12 national telecast, six Pac-12 regional telecasts, two non-telecasts.

Week 1 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, September 1
Montana State at Utah, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Pac-12 Mountain)
UC Davis at Arizona State, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Pac-12 Arizona)

Friday, September 2
Idaho State at Washington State, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Pac-12 Washington)

Saturday, September 3
Minnesota at USC, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
San Jose State at Stanford, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, ESPNU
Fresno State vs. Cal (Candlestick), 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, ESPNU

Sacramento State at Oregon State, noon PT/3 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Pac-12 Oregon)
Eastern Washington at Washington, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Pac-12 Washington)
Northern Arizona at Arizona, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Pac-12 Arizona)

Results: Everything is a national telecast! 1 FX, 2 ESPN, 4 Pac-12 Network games. You'll notice because of the plethora of games this particular week, three contests have been moved to earlier in the week. Expect this to be a running trend the first week of the season for the Pac-12 going forward.

Week 2 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, September 9
Missouri at Arizona State, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, September 10
Nevada at Oregon, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
Hawaii at Washington, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, Root NW
Utah at USC, 4:30 PM PT/7:30 PM ET, Versus
San Jose State at UCLA, 7 PM/10 PM ET, Prime Ticket

California at Colorado, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FCS Pacific/CSN California
UNLV at Washington State, 2 PM PT/5 PM ET, No telecast

Note: Stanford at Duke (ACC), Oregon State at Wisconsin (Big Ten), and Arizona at Oklahoma State (Big 12) are not part of the Pac-12 contract because they're hosted on opposing conference sites. They were all nationally televised.

Results: 3 national telecasts, 3 regional telecasts, 1 no telecast


Week 2 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, September 9
Missouri at Arizona State, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, ESPN


Saturday, September 10
Utah at USC, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FOX
Nevada at Oregon, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
Hawaii at Washington, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPNU

California at Colorado, 12 PM PT/3 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Mountain/Northern California)
UNLV at Washington State 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Washington)
San Jose State at UCLA, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Los Angeles)

Results: Seven national telecasts, 1 FOX, 1 F/X, 2 on ESPN Family, 3 on Pac-12 Network

Week 3 under old Pac-12 TV deal
Saturday, September 17
Texas at UCLA, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, ABC
Colorado State vs. Colorado in Denver, 10:30 AM/1:30 PM ET, FSN
Syracuse at USC, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FX
Stanford at Arizona, 7:45 PM PT/10:45 PM ET, ESPN

Missouri State at Oregon, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, Oregon Sports Net
Presbyterian at California, not televised

Note: The remaining four conference games were in road sites and not under Pac-12 TV contracts, although all received some form of national distribution (BTN, ESPN2, ABC/ESPN, MTN).

Results: Four nationally televised games (although split by national windows as ABC aired another game at the same time), one regional telecast, one non-broadcast.

Week 3 under new Pac-12 TV deal
Saturday, September 17
Texas at UCLA, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FOX
Syracuse at USC, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FX
Stanford at Arizona, 7:45 PM PT/10:45 PM ET, ESPN

Colorado State vs. Colorado in Denver, 11 AM PT/2 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Mountain)
Missouri State at Oregon, 2:30 PM PT/5:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Oregon)
Presbyterian at California, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (California)

Results: Six nationally televised games, 1 FOX, 1 FX, 1 ESPN, 3 Pac-12 Network


Week 4 under old Pac-12 TV deal
Saturday, September 24
Cal at Washington, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN
Oregon at Arizona, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN/ESPN2
USC at Arizona State, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN/ESPN2


UCLA at Oregon State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN Regional

Note: Colorado at Ohio State under Big Ten contract

Results: 3 national telecasts, 1 regional telecasts


Week 4 under new Pac-12 TV deal
Saturday, September 24
Oregon at Arizona, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN/ESPN2
USC at Arizona State, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN/ESPN2

Cal at Washington, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
UCLA at Oregon State, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Oregon/Los Angeles)

Results: 4 national telecasts, 2 ESPN, 1 F/X, 1 Pac-12 Network

Week 5 under old Pac-12 TV deal
Saturday, October 1
Arizona at USC, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN
Washington at Utah, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, FSN
UCLA at Stanford, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, FSN

Washington State at Colorado, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FCS Pacific
Oregon State at Arizona State, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, FSN AZ

Results: 3 national telecasts, 2 regional


Week 5 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Saturday, October 1
UCLA at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FOX
Colorado at Washington State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
Oregon State at Arizona State, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN

Arizona at USC, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Arizona/Southern California)
Washington at Utah, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Washington/Mountain)

Results: 5 national telecasts (1 FOX, 1 F/X, 1 ESPN, 2 Pac-12 Network)

Week 6 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, October 6
California at Oregon, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 8
Arizona State at Utah, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN
Colorado at Stanford, 4:30 PM PT/7:30 PM ET, Versus
Washington State at UCLA, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, FSN
Arizona at Oregon State, not televised

Results: 4 national telecasts if you count Versus.

Week 6 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, October 6
California at Oregon, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 8
Arizona State at Utah, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FOX
Arizona at Oregon State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Seattle/Arizona)
Colorado at Stanford, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Northern California/Mountain)
Washington State at UCLA, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Washington/LA)

Results: 5 national telecasts, 1 ESPN, 1 FOX, 3 Pac-12 Network

Week 7 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, October 13
USC at California, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 15
BYU at Oregon State, 1 PM PT/4 PM ET, FCS
Colorado at Washington, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, Root Sports
Stanford at Washington State, 4:30 PM PT/7:30 PM ET, Versus
Arizona State at Oregon, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN

Results: 3 national telecasts, 2 regional.

Week 7 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, October 13
USC at California, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 15

Arizona State at Oregon, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FOX
Stanford at Washington State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX

Colorado at Washington, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Mountain/Washington)
BYU at Oregon State, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Oregon)\

Results: 1 ESPN, 1 FOX, 1 F/X, 2 Pac-12 Network

Week 8 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, October 20
UCLA at Arizona, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 22
Washington at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC
Oregon at Colorado, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN
Oregon State vs. Washington State (Seattle), 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, FSN
Utah at California, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, CSN Bay Area

Results: 4 national/semi-national telecasts.

Week 8 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Thursday, October 20
UCLA at Arizona, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 22
Oregon at Colorado, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
Washington at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FX

Utah at California, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Northern California/Mountain)
Oregon State vs. Washington State (Seattle), 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Oregon/Washington)

Results: 1 ESPN, 2 FX, 2 Pac-12 Network

Week 9 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Saturday, October 29

Stanford at USC, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC

Washington State at Oregon noon PT/3 PM PT, FSN
Arizona at Washington 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, FSN

Colorado at Arizona State, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, FSN AZ/RS Rocky
Oregon State at Utah, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, KJZZ/Root NW
California at UCLA, 4 PM PT/7 PM PT, Prime Ticket

Results: 3 national telecasts, 3 regional telecasts

Week 9 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, October 28

Arizona at Washington, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, October 29

Stanford at USC, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC
Washington State at Oregon 4 PM PT/7 PM PT, FX

Oregon State at Utah, noon PT/3:00 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Oregon/Mountain)
California at UCLA, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM PT, Pac-12 Network (Northern California/Los Angeles)
Colorado at Arizona State, 7:00 PM PT/10:00 PM ET, Pac-12 Network (Arizona/Mountain)

Results: 1 ESPN, 1 ABC, 1 F/X, 3 Pac-12 Network

Week 10 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, November 4
USC at Colorado, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN2

Saturday, November 5
Stanford at Oregon State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, ABC

Arizona State at UCLA, 4:30 PM PT/7:30 PM ET, Versus
Oregon at Washington, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, FSN

Arizona at Colorado, 11:30 AM PT/2:30 PM PT, FCS
Oregon State at California, 3:30 PM PM/6:30 PM ET, CSN CA/RSNW

Results: 4 national/semi-national telecasts, 2 regional

Week 10 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, November 4
USC at Colorado, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN2

Saturday, November 5
Arizona State at UCLA, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FOX
Stanford at Oregon State, 4:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX

Oregon at Washington, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, P12N (Oregon/Washington)
Oregon State at California, 4 PM PM/7 PM ET, P12N (Oregon/Northern California)
Utah at Arizona, 7:30 AM PT/10:30 PM PT, P12N (Arizona/Mountain)

Results: 1 ESPN, 1 FOX, 1 F/X, 3 Pac-12 Network

Week 11 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Saturday, November 12

Washington at USC, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN
Oregon at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC
Arizona State at Washington State, 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET, Versus

Arizona at Colorado, 11:30 AM PT/2:30 PM ET, FCS
Oregon State at California, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, CSN California/RSNW
UCLA at Utah, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, Prime Ticket/KJZZ

Results: 3 national/semi-national telecasts, 3 regional telecasts

Week 11 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Saturday, November 12

Arizona State at Washington State,12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
Oregon State at California, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, FX
Oregon at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FOX

Washington at USC, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, P12N (Washington/LA)
UCLA at Utah, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, P12N (LA/Mountain)
Arizona at Colorado, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, P12N (Arizona/Mountain)

Results: 2 F/X, 1 FOX, 3 Pac-12 Network

Week 12 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Saturday, November 19

Colorado at UCLA, 4:30 PM PT/7:30 PM ET, Versus
USC at Oregon, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC
California at Stanford, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN

Washington at Oregon State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, Root NW
Utah at Washington State, 2 PM PT/5 PM ET, KJZZ
Arizona at Arizona State, 6:30 PM PT/9:30 PM ET, FS Arizona

Results: 3 national telecasts, 3 regional telecasts

Week 12 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Saturday, November 19

Arizona at Arizona State, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FX
USC at Oregon, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC
California at Stanford, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN

Utah at Washington State, noon PT/3 PM ET, P12N (Mountain/Washington)
Washington at Oregon State, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, P12N (Oregon/Washington)
Colorado at UCLA, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, P12N (Mountain/LA)

Results: 1 ABC, 1 F/X, 1 ESPN, 3 Pac-12 Networks

Week 13 under old Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, November 25
Colorado at Utah, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FSN
California at Arizona State, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, November 26
Oregon State at Oregon, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, ABC
Washington at Washington State, 4:30 PM PT/7:30 PM ET, Versus
Notre Dame at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2
UCLA at USC, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, FSN
ULL at Arizona, not televised

Results: 6 national/semi-national telecasts

Week 13 under new Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, November 25
Colorado at Utah, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, P12N (Mountain)
California at Arizona State, 7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET, ESPN

Saturday, November 26
Oregon State at Oregon, 12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET, FOX
Notre Dame at Stanford, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, ESPN

UCLA at USC, noon/3:00 PM ET, P12N (LA)
Washington at Washington State, 3:30 PM PT/6:30 PM ET, P12N (Washington)
ULL at Arizona, 7 PM PT/10 PM ET, P12N (Arizona)

Results: 2 ESPN, 1 FOX, 4 Pac-12 Network

Week 14 under old and new Pac-12 TV deal

Friday, December 2
Pac-12 Championship, 5 PM PT/8 PM ET, FOX

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Pacific Takes

You must be a member of Pacific Takes to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Pacific Takes. You should read them.

Join Pacific Takes

You must be a member of Pacific Takes to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Pacific Takes. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker